New Year, New Goals

Happy New Year, folks! I hope everyone had a safe and fantastic holiday. Around the holidays, I tend to relapse on posting and focus on personal obligations. It was especially busy due to being away to celebrate my mother’s birthday and attending a family wedding. After the whirl of holidays, I was able to establish my goals for 2015.

First off, I’ve set the number for my reading challenge of the year. In 2013 and 2014, I decided to read 50 books. This year, I’m aiming for 50 books as well. I may decide to extend this reading challenge further should I find I’m able to. Goals should be realistic and obtainable, so while I want to challenge myself, I want to ensure my success rather than failure. Reading 50 books in a year means at least 4 books a month or 1 book a week, sometimes 2. That seems doable!

Feel free to send me suggestions, or books you would like for me to review.

If you have a goodreads account, go ahead and set up your challenge here: https://www.goodreads.com/challenges/3082-2015-reading-challenge

2015challenge

Other goals, I would like to further expand this blog and my branded identity. I have some ideas in store for weekly segments and reviewing other materials related to children and teens. Professionally, I would like to gain more experience working or volunteering with children and teens, as well as land a librarian position, as I graduated from Library School last month.

Other than that, as a big proponent for health and fitness, I am maintaining my exercise with POPilates and a low-carb lifestyle. Always remember to take care of you! I also would like to practice more yoga and relaxation techniques.

Speaking of which, I completed a paper last semester by selecting books for an early elementary school audience on the topic of exercise. I will update this week about that project and brief reviews on those three resources!

Leave a comment and let me know what some of your goals are for this year! 

Leave a Reply

